It’s that time of the year again! The South African Music Awards are upon us and this morning, the nominations were finally announced. I am proud to say that I was very involved in the awards this year as a judge and it was really interesting to see how the whole process worked. I’m honoured that I was approached to be a judge especially that it’s the award’s 20th anniversary.

Interestingly, rockers Gangs of Ballet and dance superstars Mi Casa lead the pack this year with 5 nominations each. With 4 nominations each, Naima Kay and Nakhane Toure, both new faces, prove that newbies are taken just as seriously this year.

I was incredibly proud of Connell Cruise and GOODLUCK for their nominations and it was so great seeing how excited they were moments after finding out that they have been nominated. It’s fantastic to see just how diverse the nominees are this year and I think it’s proof that local really is lekker. Below are the nominees for the 20th South African Music Awards.

Album of the Year

DJ Kent – The Weekent

Mafikizolo – Reunited

Mi Casa – Su Casa

Naima Kay – Umsebenzi

Nakhane Touré – Brave Confusion

Duo or Group of the Year

Gangs of Ballet – Yes/No/Grey

GoodLuck – Creatures of the Night

Mafikizolo – Reunited

Mi Casa – Su Casa

The Parlotones – Stand Like Giants

Female Artist of the Year

Dear Reader – Rivonia

Judith Sephuma – The Experience Live in Concert

Naima Kay – Umsebenzi

Rebecca – Bayos’Khomba

Zahara – Phendula

Male Artist of the Year

Connell Cruise – Connell Cruise

Kabomo – Memory Remains

Matthew Mole – The Home We Built

Nakhane Touré – Brave Confusion

Vusi Mahlasela – Sing to the People

Newcomer of the Year

Gangs Of Ballet – Yes/No/Grey

IFani – I Believes in Me (1st Quadrant)

MuzArt – MuzArt

Naima Kay – Umsebenzi

Nakhane Touré – Brave Confusion

Best Rock Album

Gangs of Ballet – Yes/No/Grey

Shadowclub – Goodbye Wild Child

The Black Cat Bones – Beatipiller

The Parlotones – Stand Like Giants

Van Coke Kartel – Bloed, Sweet & Trane

Best Pop Album

Danny K Good Look

GoodLuck Creatures of the Night

LCNVL Faster Longer Mixtape

Mafikizolo Reunited

Matthew Mole The Home We Built

Beste Pop Album (Afrikaans)

4Werke 4 Harte

Charlize Berg Charlize Berg

JAY Dis Hoe Ons Rol

Karlien van Jaarsveld Uitklophou

Kurt Darren Seerower

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Connell Cruise Connell Cruise

Farryl Purkiss Home

Hinds Brothers Ocean of Milk

Michael Lowman Crayon Boxes

Shaun Jacobs Love Can

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album

Ampie Niks en Niemand

Andriëtte Wat Rym met Liefde

Bok van Blerk Steek Die Vure Aan

Elvis Blue Afrikaans

Jak de Priester N1 van My Hart

Best African Adult Album

Naima Kay Umsebenzi

Selaelo Selota The Promise

Vusi Mahlasela Sing to the People

Zamajobe Thula Mntwana

Zonke Give and Take Live

Best Alternative Album

Chris Letcher Hyperbalist

Dear Reader Rivonia

Death by Misadventure dumb dumb

Die See II

Nakhane Touré Brave Confusion

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album

Kabomo Memory Remains

MuzArt MuzArt

The Soil Reflections Live in Joburg

Vusi Nova Walk into Light

Zahara Phendula

Best Rap Album

AB Crazy Home Coming

iFani I Believes in Me (1st Quadrant)

Kwesta DaKAR

L-Tido All of Me

Molemi A Sia

Best Kwaito Album

Alaska The Revival

Big Nuz Made in Africa

Character Self-Control

Mandoza Sgantsontso

Tzozo Amabills

Best Dance Album

DJ Kent The Weekent

Lulo Café Soul Africa

Mi Casa Su Casa

Uhuru Our Father

Zakes Bantwini The Fake Book & Real Book: My Music Bible

Best Traditional Faith Music Album

Andile KaMajola Chapter 6 ujehova ungibiyele

Deborah Umqhele

Lusanda Spiritual Group Uhambo Lwam

Rebecca Bayos’Khomba

Worship House Project 10 Live in Limpopo, RSA

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

Benjamin Dube Renewal in His Presence with Benjamin Dube

Judith Sephuma The Experience Live in Concert

Nqubeko Mbatha Sentiments of a Worshiper

Soweto Gospel Choir Divine Decade & Friends

We Will Worship YHWH

Best Traditional Album

Hennie de Bruyn en die Kitaarkêrels Kitaar Kwêla

Joe Shirimani na Vana va Ndoda Hawu Ra Mina

PS. Manyike Na Vatirhi Va Hosi Taduma e Kerekeni

Sayicology Round 2

Dr. Thomas Chauke Na Shinyori Sisters Shimatsatsa No 32

Best Maskandi Album

Amabunjwa X6

Buselaphi Gijima Ntuthwane

Khwelebhasini Ngiyistress

Phuzekhemisi Kungakho Nilwa Nodwa

Thokozani Langa Inyakanyaka

Best Jazz Album

Marcus Wyatt Quartet One Life in the Sun

Shane Cooper Oscillations

Sisa Sopazi Images & Figures

Tumi Mogorosi Project Elo

Zim Ngqawana Live at the Cape Town International Jazz Festival

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album

Cape Consort Claudio Monteverdi – Selected Madrigals

Guy Buttery Live in KwaZulu

Ockie Vermeulen Obsession

Tygerberg Children’s Choir Glorious

Zanne Stapelberg & Soul of Fire

Kathleen Tagg

Best Live DVD

Nataniël Factory

Skouspel 2013 Skouspel 2013

The Soil Reflections Live in Joburg

Unathi An Intimate Night with Unathi

Zonke Give and Take Live

Best Collaboration

DJ Kent Ft The Arrows Spin My World Around

LCNVL Ft Lakota Silva Closer

Mafikizolo Ft May D Happiness

The Parlotones, Khuli Chana & Jon Savage Sleepwalker

Uhuru Ft Oskido, Professor &a Y-tjukutja

DJ Bucks

Best Music Video of the Year

Goldfish One Million Views

Mi Casa Jika

The Muffinz – Umsebenzi Wendoda (An Ode to Single Mothers)

The Parlotones, Khuli Chana & Jon Savage Sleepwalker

Toya Delazy Memoriam

Best Producer of the Year

Danny K Good Look by Danny K

Darryl Torr Yes/No/Grey by Gangs of Ballet

David Poole & Three Second Memory by Goldfish

Dominic Peters

Dan Roberts Border Crossing by Laurie Levine

Shaun Jacobs Love Can by Shaun Jacobs

Best Engineer of the Year

Peter Auret Pimp My Piano by Charl du Plessis

Darryl Torr Yes/No/Grey by Gangs of Ballet

Matthew Fink The Home We Built by Matthew Mole

Matthew Fink Goodbye Wild Child by Shadowclub

Shaun Jacobs Love Can by Shaun Jacobs

Remix of the Year

Euphonik Hallelujah Anyway

Khuli Chana Hape (Part 2)

Mi Casa Jika

Oskido Tsa Ma Ndebele

Uhuru Thath’isghubu

Category winners to be announced at the awards ceremony:


International Achievement Awards


Best Selling Album
Best Selling DVD
Best Selling Mobile Music Download
Best Selling True-Tone
Best Selling Ring-Back Tone
Best Selling Full-Track Download


Highest Airplay of the Year

The official nominee announcement took place at Carnival City Casino earlier today and I managed to spot some of the nominees and other musicians in the crowd:

DeaderThanDisco were there! Was so nice to see them out and about!

Yup, I took a selfie with Jules from GOODLUCK.

So proud of this dude! Connell Cruise was nominated for two awards.

Elvis Blue’s latest record was also nominated for an award.

Zahara gave us a little pose as well.

Mi Casa’s J’Something must be smiling from ear to ear right about now.

Monde Msutwana from Idols also made a turn

The BEST picture EVER!!! Kurt Darren and Nakhane Toure.

The Muffinz were nominated for one award this year.

Please feel free to comment, share or tweet me @ElBroide