Die Heuwels Fantasties have cemented themselves as one of the greatest Afrikaans pop groups of our time. They’re behind hits such as ‘Leja’, ‘Shangri-LA’, ‘Doodgewone Aand’, ‘Pille Vir Kersfees’ and many more with each of their previous albums have achieved gold status (selling over 15 000 copies). Now, after the release of their latest single ‘LED Liefde’, the group will be releasing their fifth studio album ‘OKAY!’ on the 5th of May 2017.

The album will include an array of new, original material which will see the group collaborating with some of South Africa’s most-talented musicians. Valiant Swart, JR and Hanu de Jongh will join forces with the group vocally with listeners can also expect to hear contributions by renowned musicians like Janine Neethling (piano), Adriaan Brand (trumpet), Hiram Koopman (saxophone) and Jannie, from the Gereformeerde Blues Band (tuba and trombone).

“At this stage it seems like the songs on the new album can almost stand separately on their own islands, but they also make sense together as a whole. We want the album to reflect where we are now,” lead singer Pierre Greef tells us. “It seems like music albums are similar to photo albums, because you always listen back to how you felt when you wrote the music. We want our music to have a positive effect on listeners.”

The group revealed that ‘Koeëlbaai’ (with JR) and ‘Gebruik My’ are some of their favourite tracks on the new album, and are songs they believe their fans will be able to relate to.

Meanwhile, ‘LED Liefde’ continues it’s chart domination. The song’s universal theme in this digital era, exceptional sound and meaningful lyrics quickly resonated with fans. It not only topped the charts on various radio stations (Jacaranda FM Top 20, Bok Radio Top 40, MFM Top 40, Maroela Media Top 20, SFM Top 30, Radio Helderberg, etc.), but the release of a lyric video was also a first for the group.

The group are ready for the world to hear their new material which is expected to be their best yet. As mentioned, ‘OKAY!’ drops everywhere on the 5th of May 2017.

Feel free to comment, share or tweet @ElBroide.