Fridays are easily my favourite day of the week. Not only do they mean that the weekend has finally arrived, but it’s also the day most artists release their new music. That means that there is an overwhelming amount of new music on a Friday. But don’t worry, I’m here to make things easier for you. In this new weekly piece, I will put together the new releases I’m enjoying this week.

Charlie Puth – Attention

After the success of his debut album ‘Nine Track Mind’, Charlie Puth has been in the studio working on his highly-anticipated follow-up record. Today, the star drops ‘Attention’, the lead single off the project. Charlie wrote the song alongside Jacob Kasher and is an incredibly strong lead single. With an epic guitar riff, smooth vocals and a catchy chorus, ‘Attention’ is bound to be a hit.

Slow Jack – Ode To The Future

Local indie rockers, Slow Jack, drop their beautiful new single ‘Ode To The Future’ today. The indie pop piece is sees the group deliver a sexy piece of music which will make you sit up and listen. On the composition of ‘Ode To The Future’ the band says: “Back in October 2015, it was our ‘Ode’ to release the band and be an active part of the South African Music Industry, now 15 months later our ‘Ode’ has progressed so much. We are extremely excited for what the future holds and to reach the next step in our careers and most of all – We cannot wait for you to hear our ‘Ode To The Future’”.

Tresor – Remedy

Earlier today I highlighted Tresor’s impressive new comeback single. The song serves as the lead single off his upcoming album ‘The Beautiful Madness’. You can read my full review here.

DUA LIPA – Lost In Your Light (Feat. Miguel)

While ‘Be The One’ continues its global success, DUA LIPA has premiered the next single off her upcoming self-titled album. ‘Lost In Your Light’ is another pop banger from the star who teams up with R&B superstar Miguel. The song is something a little different from DUA LIPA, however, it shows her versatility and creativity. The song is one of the star’s favourites off the new album which drops everywhere on June 2.

MØ – Nights With You

MØ is easily one of my favourite vocalists at the moment. ‘Final Song’ was a moderate hit here in South Africa and now, she’s back with a her signature dark pop sound as she drops her new single ‘Nights With You’. I still don’t understand why she isn’t massive yet…

Willem Botha – Soen En Vergeet

Ahead of his new album launch on the fifth of May, Willem Botha has launched his new single ‘Soen En Vergeet’. The album is Willem’s first in almost five years and man, have we missed him. The track’s official music video was also released today and is the already the most downloaded local music video on iTunes today. I’m so glad Willem is back.

HURTS – Beautiful Ones

English pop group HURTS are back with a new single this week. It’s been a while since the group have released new music and ‘Beautiful Ones’ is another awesome release from the group. Their music has always been emotional and rather raw and although this single is a little more commercial (guitar solo and everything), the song still packs a massive punch.

Matthew Mole – Light EP

Matthew Mole’s new single ‘Light’ wasn’t my favourite. The auto-tune was very overwhelming but today, the singer releases his new ‘Light EP’ which features two brand new stripped down versions of the track – and they’re beautiful. I honestly think this is the way the song should be heard. It’s full of raw emotion which is bound to give you goosebumps.

Lady Gaga – The Cure

During her massive Coachella headlining performance earlier this week, Lady Gaga premiered a brand new single titled ‘The Cure’. The song seems to be a step back into the pop direction and away from the country-inspired album ‘Joanne’. Could this mean we’ve got a new album on the way? I sure hope so!

Lana Del Rey – Lust For Life (Feat. The Weeknd)

After releasing her comeback single ‘Love’ earlier this year, Lana Del Rey is back with the next single off her upcoming album. The song finds a beautiful middle-ground between the both artist’s unique sound and is something different. It’s an exciting collaboration which still holds a lot of emotion, mystery and diversity. This has been on repeat.

David Archuleta – Up All Night

I almost forgot about former American Idol contestant David Archuleta. The singer drops a new single today titled ‘Up All Night’. The song is a lovely comeback track from the singer. While, honestly, I don’t see this smashing any records, it’s a catchy mid-tempo pop track with heavy tropical house influences. It’s the perfect soundtrack to a beach holiday and it’s a song I’m really enjoying this week.

Emtee – Ghetto Hero

He gave an epic live performance at the SAMA nominee Announcement party last night and today, Emtee drops his brand new single ‘Ghetto Hero’. The rapper delivers another epic performance paired with slick beats that is bound to impress any hip-hop fan.

Paramore – Hard Times

I cannot even tell you how excited I am that Paramore are making a comeback. The group announced their new album ‘After Laughter’ and dropped ‘Hard Times’ as the lead single off the record. The song is an incredibly colourful single filled with catchy lyrics, attitude and epic instrumentals. This is easily one of my highlights this week.

Shawn Mendes – There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back

Shawn Mendes had an array of hits off his ‘Illuminate’ album such as ‘Mercy’ and ‘Treat You Better’ and now, the singer surprised us with a new track titled ‘There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back’. Shawn is easily one of the best male pop stars at the moment and this is another banging single from the star. I’m not quite sure how it fits in with his strategy but I’m so glad he decided to release it.