Fridays are easily my favourite day of the week. Not only do they mean that the weekend has finally arrived, but it’s also the day most artists release their new music. That means that there is an overwhelming amount of new music on a Friday. But don’t worry, I’m here to make things easier for you. In this new weekly piece, I will put together the new releases I’m enjoying this week.

Bebe Rexha – The Way I Are (Dance With Somebody) [Feat. Lil Wayne]

Earlier this year, one of my favourite newcomers, Bebe Rexha dropped the first half of her album in the form of the ‘All Your Fault Pt. 1’ EP. Now, the star is getting ready for phase two. Ahead of the release of ‘All Your Fault Pt. 2’ later this year, Bebe teams up with Lil Wayne for the lead single off the album’s second half ‘The Way I Are (Dance With Somebody)’. The song sees the singer continue her journey to pop domination. It’s a catchy single with a massive amount of potential and one I think you’ll be hearing on your radio a lot over the next couple of weeks.

Selena Gomez – Bad Liar

We’ve been waiting for Selena Gomez to make her highly-anticipated comeback! Today, the singer dropped ‘Bad Liar’, the lead single off her upcoming studio album and it’s somewhat of an unexpected release. Selena throws us back to the 70’s as she sings over a strong sample of Talking Heads’ 1977 classic ‘Psycho Killer.’ The production is smooth and Selena sounds great on the pop record. While it’s not what I expected from the singer, I like that she’s taken a risk with this single. It’s something different and it’s exactly what she needed to get out of the pop/dance collaboration stereotype that has been dominating the airwaves recently.

Iggy Azalea – Switch (feat. Anitta)

Iggy Azalea made her comeback earlier with year with ‘Mo Bounce’ which, for me, is one of the worst pop tracks of 2017 so far. Today, she tries again as she drops Switch featuring Anitta. While this song is definitely a step in the right direction, it still doesn’t do it for me. Iggy seems like she’s lost her sense of direction and is trying anything to remain relevant. I think she needs to head back to the drawing board and plan where she thinks she sould be sonically. Also, the songwriting here is horrible!

Linkin Park – One More Light

American rockers Linkin Park are one of the most versatile acts in the music industry today. Today, the group release their seventh studio album ‘One More Light’. As the lead singles ‘Heavy’ and ‘Good Goodbye’ suggest, the group head in a more pop direction than ever before on this record. ‘Heavy’ has become a massive radio hit in South Africa and if you love that track, you’ll love the band’s new album. “One of the reasons why we chose ‘Heavy’ as the first single is because it is really the core sound of the album,” Mike Shinoda says. “This wasn’t a scenario where the whole album sounds one way and the single sounds different. This is how the album sounds. So we wanted to go out with a song like that, where everybody can get a sense of the direction of this body of work.”

Robin Schulz – OK (Feat. James Blunt)

After an epic performance in South Africa earlier this year, German DJ Robin Schulz went back into the studio to work on his upcoming album ‘Uncovered’. Now, he’s teamed up with James Blunt for the lead single off the project – a song titled ‘OK’. Hearing James Blunt on a dance track is something different and unexpected – but it works. The production is sleek and has subtle hints of the tropical sound Robin has become famous for. While I’m not the biggest fan of the effects on James’ vocals, this is still a banger.

Mike Perry, The Vamps & Sabrina Carpenter – Hands

This is one of my favourite releases this week. I have become such a big fan of Mike Perry, The Vamps and Sabrina Carpenter over the past few months and I am so excited about the fact that they are all on one song together. While the dance track isn’t a song that is gong to smash records, it’s a fantastic piece of pop. Mike Perry is an incredible producer and one I have a feeling is going to do massive things over the next few months. The Vamps are easily one of the best pop acts around at the moment. Their writing, vocals and compositions are on point. Always. In fact, their new single ‘Middle Of The Night’ and this track has made me even more excited about seeing them live next year. Sabrina Carpenter also seems to step it up a notch with every single release. Again, I don’t expect this to smash records, but it’s a pleasant track.

Alan Walker – Tired (feat. Gavin James)

Alan Walker is the producer behind the hits ‘Faded’ and ‘Sing Me To Sleep’ and releases his most commercial track this week. He teams up with Gavin James who gives a flawless vocal performance on the track. The only issue I have with this song is that it feels like I have heard it before. There is nothing original about it which makes it rather boring.

GOODLUCK & Kyle Watson – Tall Walls

Local electronic act GOODLUCK also drop a new single this week. For the fourth single off their latest record ‘The Nature Within’, the group teamed up with Kyle Watson for their most experimental release yet. ‘Tall Walls’ sees them head into a deeper space than we’ve ever heard them before. The production is fire and Jules delivers another smooth vocal performance and as much as I love this song, I can’t help but feel the essence of GOODLUCK is missing in this one.

Refentse – Deur My Venster

Afrikaans star Refentse broke records with his debut solo album ‘My Hart Bly In ‘n Taal’. It became the most purchased album of last year and today, the crooner is back with his second studio album. The album features more fantastic new tracks which showcase his deep, strong vocal ability.

Donald – Something More

It’s been a while since we’ve heard the Donald’s sultry voice. Today, the dance star drops his brand new album ‘Something New’. Donald flawlessly blends dance and R&B together with an African twist – something that makes his music so special. The new album features 10 brilliant new tracks. This is an album you should definitely be listening to today.

Camila Cabello – Crying In The Club

Former Fifth Harmony star Camila Cabello has finally released her debut solo single today. ‘Crying In The Club’ is an emotional piece of pop music. The catchy single was co-written alongside Sia and shows us a different side of the pop star. The production is incredible and Camila gives her best vocal performance to date. I have a feeling this is going to be one of the biggest pop songs of the year.

Jasmine Thompson – Wonderland

She’s been featured on some incredible songs and dropped some mesmerising covers over the past few months and today, Jasmine Thompson drops her brand new EP ‘Wonderland’. The 8-track EP features the brand new single ‘Old Friends’, a remix by Jonas Blue and six other beautiful songs which showcase her beautiful voice. The EP shows what a great artist the 16-year-old singer. Everything from the songwriting to the vocal performance is perfect. This is an EP you need to listen to this week.

Liam Payne – Strip That Down (Feat. Quavo)

He’s the last of the One Direction members to release any sort of solo material but it seems the wait has been worth it. Liam Payne drops his debut solo single ‘Strip That Down’ today and it’s the poppiest track we’ve heard from any of the band members. The song is crafted over a slick bassline and features Migos member Quavo. While the vocal isn’t anything to rave about, the song is crafted well, has a catchy hook and a bit of an edge.

Timothy De Monk – On Our Own

Local singer Timothy De Monk impressed with his debut single ‘Everyday’ and now, he’s back with his second single – a track called ‘On Our Own’. The singer strips it down for this emotional ballad and shows he can take on the ballads as well as the bangers.