Comedy’s biggest night is upon us and earlier today, the official nominees for the 2017 Comics’ Choice Awards were announced. Skhumba leads the awards with a massive four nominations and is expected to take home a few awards on the night. This year also sees the introduction of the Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year Award which celebrates comics from across the globe.

The awards also announced Cyril Green as the winner of this year’s lifetime achievement award. Cyril is one of the most renowned entertainers and producers in South Africa, having performed in over 150 television shows, including hosting his own TV series “The Cyril Green Show”. Cyril is also a fully rounded jazz pianist, leading his own bands and having produced variety shows for in excess of 20 years, as well as hundreds of live stage appearances as a stand-up comedian and recently an author.

The winners will be announced at a glamorous awards ceremony at The Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City on the 9th of September which will feature some of the best comedy, stand-up, skits and production you’re bound to see in one sitting.

Breakthrough Award
Skhumba Hlophe
Alfred Adriaan
Loyiso Gola
Robby Collins
Tumi Morake

Savanna Newcomer of the Year
Thabiso Mhlongo
Tsitsi Chiumya
Bongani Dube
Eric Jansen

Intermediate Award
Ebenhaezer Dibakwane
Virgil Prins
Glen Biderman-Pam
Noko Moswete
Mo Mothebe

Non-English Comic Award
Skhumba Hlophe
Celeste Ntuli
Mashabela Galane
Thapelo King Flat Mametja

Flying Solo Award
Skhumba Hlophe
Carvin H Goldstone
Celeste Ntuli
Loyiso Gola
Mashabela Galane

Comics’ Pen Award
Mojak Lehoko
Trevor Noah
Muzi Dlamini
Lazola Gola
Karabo Lediga

The Nando’s Best Friend of Comedy
Goliath & Goliath
David Kau – Blacks Only
Carvin H Goldstone
On Fire Comedy
Armchair – Gino Fernandez

Savanna Comic of the Year
Skhumba Hlophe
Loyiso Gola
Carvin H Goldstone
Celeste Ntuli
Kagiso KG Mokgadi

Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year Award
Patrick Idringi (aka Salvado) from Uganda
Bright Okpocha (aka Basketmouth) from Nigeria
Carl Joshua Ncube from Zimbabwe
Tshepo “Masapo” Mpiti from Lesotho
Fernando Filipe from Angola

The Savanna Audience Choice Award is the only category in which the public can vote for their favourite nominee. Public voting, via SMS, is open and will close on Friday 25 August 2017. Make sure to cast your vote for the comedian of your choice below by texting their unique code and your name to 45757 (each SMS is charged at R1.50 and errors will be billed. Free minutes do not apply). You can vote up to 20 times.

The Audience Choice Award nominees are:
Elton Mduduzi Ntuli (unique voting code: 17163)
Pelepele Mchunu (unique voting code: 58085)
Thapelo Maila (unique voting code: 72116)
Luphelo Kodwa (unique voting code: 40009)
Thabang ER (unique voting code: 68906)

Feel free to comment, share or tweet @ElBroide