Camila Cabello is easily one of the breakout artists of the year. Her massive hit single ‘Havana’ is still taking over the charts around the world and earlier this week, she announced that her debut solo album ‘Camila’ will be released on the 12th of January 2018. Now, ahead of the album’s release, she’s premiered two brand new tracks – ‘Never Be The Same’ and ‘Real Friends’.

On ‘Never Be The Same’, the star sings about an addictive love affair and shows off some impressive vocals as she hits some really high notes. “It’s you, babe/ And I’m a sucker for the way that you move, babe/ And I could try to run, but it would be useless/ You’re to blame/ Just one hit, you will know I’ll never ever, ever be the same” she sings on the dark pop track which sees the star play in an unfamiliar sonic space. On ‘Real Friends’, Camila yearns for something we all crave so badly – real friends. “I’m just lookin’ for some real friends/ All they ever do is let me down,” she sings over a beautiful guitar riff.

The star gives a phenomenal vocal performance on both tracks but hints that she’s throwing away the pop rulebook and is opting for a different, more meaningful approach to music. Although the tracks are somewhat different to what we expected, Camila brought the heat and proves she still has a few surprises up her sleeve. The tracks have boosted the hype around her debut album and we have a feeling this is going to be one of the most exciting releases of 2018.

Feel free to comment, share or tweet @ElBroide