The 24th annual South African Music Awards took place in Sun City last night and, as always, music’s biggest night celebrated the very best of South African music over the past year. The ceremony, which took place at the Sun City Super Bowl, was hosted by TV and radio stars Somizi Mhlongo and Dineo Ranaka; and comedian Mpho Popps and featured performances by Distruction Boyz, Lady Zamar, Shwi noMtekhala, Shekhinah, Die Heuwels Fantasties, Bongeziwe Mabandla and Riky Rick.

The who’s who of entertainment was in attendance and stars such as Pearl Modiadie, Papa Penny and Boity presented awards throughout the night. President Cyril Ramaphosa also made a surprise appearance and handed out various lifetime achievement and international achievement awards.

Sun-El Musician, Joyous Celebration, Shekhinah and Mafikizolo were the big winners this weekend each taking home an incredible three awards.

Commented Nhlanhla Sibisi, RiSA CEO: “Tonight has been a remarkable night of celebrating the best our country has to offer. We salute all the winners and the nominees and we thank the public for their undying support for local music. We applaud everyone who made SAMA24 such a successful project.”

“Congratulations to all the winners,” said Mme O.R Mochware, MEC for Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs in North West. “The winners were all worthy of their medals in such a competitive and prestigious event. We are proud to be associated with the SAMAs.”

Compelete List Of Winners

Best Selling Digital Artist of the Year – Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal Our Land by Joyous Celebration

Sampra Highest Airplay of the Year – Akanamali by Sun El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto

Best Traditional Faith Music Album – Andile kaMajola Chapter 8 Sekwanele by Andile kaMajola

Best African Indigenous Gospel Album – Samson Aphi Amandla Akho by Vuma Zion

Best Kwaito Album – Highly Flavoured by Busiswa

Best Afro Pop Album – 20 by Mafikizolo

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album – Skepe by Jo Black

Best Pop Album – The Beautiful Madness by Tresor

Samro Highest Airplay of the Year Composer’s Award – Akanamali by Sun El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto composed by Sanele T Sithole

International Achievement Award – Shashika Mooruth

Best Rock Album – Selfmedikasie by Fokofpolisiekar

Best Hip Hop Album – Yellow by Shane Eagle

Best Dance Album – King Zamar by Lady Zamar

Best Maskandi Album – 6 to 6 by Abafana Baka Mgqumeni

Newcomer of the Year – Rose Gold by Shekhinah

Duo or Group of the Year – 20 by Mafikizolo

Female Artist of the Year – Rose Gold by Shekhinah

Male Artist of the Year – I Am Music by Prince Kaybee

Album of the Year – Rose Gold by Shekhinah

Record of the Year – Omunye by Distruction Boyz

Best Adult Contemporary Album – Symphonic Soweto by Wouter Kellerman and Soweto Gospel Choir

Best African Adult Contemporary Album – Ilanga by Siseko Pame

Best Alternative Music Album – Mangaliso by Bongeziwe Mabandla

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album – Relationships by Afrotraction

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album – Heaven’s Ways by Nqubeko Mbatha

Beste Pop Album – Laat Die Dansvloer Brand by Kurt Darren

Best Jazz Album – Ikhambi by Nduduzo Makhathini

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album – Baroqueswing Vol. III by Charl du Plessis Trio

Best Traditional Music Album – Jessica Mbangeni Sings iGoli Live @ Lyric Theatre Johannesburg by Jessica Mbangeni

Best African Artist Album – The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience by Simphiwe Dana

Best Live Audio Visual Recording/ DVD – Red Mic Xperience by Donald – Produced by Robin Kohl

Best Collaboration – Akanamali by Sun El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto

Music Video of the Year – Arumtumtum by Rouge – Directed by Alex Fynn

Best Produced Album – Late Night People by Goldfish – Produced by Dominic Peters and David Poole

Best Engineered Album – 20 by Mafikizolo – Engineered by Howard Gomba and Themba Sekowe

Remix of the Year – I Got You by Encore remixed by Mobi Dixon

Best Selling DVD – Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal our Land

Best Selling Album – Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal our Land

CAPASSO Best Selling Digital Download Composer – Timothy Bambela Myeni

Feel free to comment, share or tweet @ElBroide