The top 20 shortlist for the SAMA26 Record of the Year (ROTY) and Music Video of the Year (MVOTY) have been revealed and put up for public vote. All indications are that South Africans got down to generous doses of dance music and hip hop with a sprinkling of amapiano, in the past year.

Dance maestro Prince Kaybee is off to a flying start with four nominations. His two smash hits Fetch Your Life featuring Msaki and Gugulethu featuring Afro Brothers, Indlovukazi and SUPTA are both nominated in the ROTY and MVOTY categories making his tally the highest so far in SAMA26.

Hot on Kaybee’s heels is KO with three nominations for Supa Dupa (ROTY and MVOTY) and Say You Will featuring Nandi Madida (MVOTY).

Coming in with two nods respectively from the two categories are DJ Zinhle for Umlilo featuring Mvzzle and Rethabile; Holly Rey for You; AKA for Jika featuring Yanga Chief; SMA Nasty C featuring Rowlene; Lady Zamar for This is Love; TNS for My Dali featuring Indlovukazi and Black Motion for Joy Joy featuring Brenden Praise.

Two Amapiano tracks Labantwana Ama Uber by Semi Tee feat. Miano, Kammu Dee and Kokota by Kaygee Daking and Bizizi featuring Killer Kau are up for a ROTY while Black Coffee’s Lalala featuring Usher ; Sun-El Musician’s Into Ingawe featuring Ami Faku; Blaq Diamond’s Ibhanoyi; Samthing Soweto’s Akulaleki featuring Sha Sha, DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small; and Tshego’s No Ties featuring King Monada complete the list.

Also in the running over at MVOTY are Baby Are You Coming by Zero12Finest featuring Thamagnificent2; Love You Tonight by MFR Souls featuring Kabza De Small, DJ Maphorisa and Sha Sha; Umahlalela by Simmy; Whipped by Tellaman featuring Shekhinah and Nasty C; Ngwana Daddy by DJ Sumbody featuring Kwesta, Thebe, Vettys and Vaal Nation; Mai Zuzu by TLT featuring Thabsie; Koko by DJ Maphorisa and Kabza de Small featuring Mhaw Keys; Khethile Khethile by Kwesta featuring Makwa, Tshego AMG and Thee Legacy; and Abantu by Mobi Dixon featuring Samthing Soweto.

To vote SMS the code of your preferred artist to 33444 or dial *120*273#. SMS charged at R1.50 per SMS. USSD charged at 20c per 20 seconds. Or vote on platform. See the complete list of nominees and their allocated codes below.

The Recording Industry of South Africa (RiSA) announced on Monday that the annual South African Music Awards (SAMA) will stage its 26th edition over five nights, 3 to 7 August 2020 at 21.30. In accordance with the nationwide Covid-19 lockdown and social distancing norms, the party has moved from the Sun City Superbowl to be streamed on the My Muze by Vodacom platform and broadcast on Mzansi Magic, DStv channel 161.

Under the theme #ForThaKultcha, five adrenaline filled yet bite-size 30 minute episodes with subthemes #ForThaRoots, #ForThaSoul, #ForThaStreets, #ForThaCraft culminating in #ForThaClub which will be a 45 minutes long grand finale, will present a unique SAMA26 virtual experience.

Nhlanhla Sibisi, CEO of RiSA comments: ‘Congratulations to the nominees in both the ROTY and MVOTY categories. It is their exceptional artistry, passion for the craft and tenacity that has seen them rise to the top. In these two categories, the SAMA gives the viewer and fan of local music a voice to crown the winners. I trust that the music loving public will make the most of the opportunity and make their choices known as we count down to what promises to be the biggest night in South African music under the circumstances the world finds itself.’

Rehana Hassim, Executive Head of Content and Lifestyle at Vodacom says: ‘Congratulations to all the nominees for these prestigious awards. This is an exciting time for My Muze to be part of the first ever digital version of the SAMA this year as we have introduced features such as digital voting and livestreaming on the Vodacom network through the My Muze platform. As a brand, especially at a time when South Africans are encouraged to practice social distancing in the fight against Covid-19, we are excited that we are enabling music fans to vote for their favourite song or video of the year through our platform and without leaving their homes. Presenting the awards live through is another way Vodacom is driving its purpose of connecting people to a better tomorrow, while creating an inclusive digital society. It also encourages people to heed the call of ‘stay at home and stay safe.’ 

Nomsa Philiso, the director of Local Entertainment Channels at M-Net says: ‘The star-studded line-up dominating the nominees list is, for us, an indication of what viewers can expect on Mzansi Magic from 3 August. With the event taking place on the first week of Women’s Month, we are also encouraged to see the number of women dominating the nominations list on both categories. Congratulations to all the nominees and we look forward to bringing you this prestigious event straight to your living room.’

Record of the Year

 Voting CodeName of SongName of Artist/Group
R1Fetch your lifePrince Kaybee feat.Msaki
R2WhippedTellaman feat. Nasty C, Shekhinah
R3UmliloDJ Zinhle feat. Mvzzle, Rethabile
R4SMANasty C feat. Rowlene
R5Into IngaweSun-El Musician feat. Ami Faku
R6This is loveLady Zamar
R7AkulalekiSamthing Soweto feat. Sha Sha, DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small
R8GugulethuPrince Kaybee feat. Afro Brothers, Indlovukazi, SUPTA
R9Supa DupaK.O
R10YouHolly Rey
R11SheshaDe Mthunda & Njelic
R12SondelaTresor feat. Msaki
R13No TiesTshego feat. King Monada
R14JikaAKA feat. Yanga Chief
R15IbhanoyiBlaq Diamond
R16LaLaLaBlack Coffee feat. Usher
R17KokotaKaygee Daking & Bizizi feat Killer Kau
R18My DaliTNS feat. Indlovukazi
R19Joy JoyBlack Motion feat Brenden Praise
R20Labantwana Ama UberSemi Tee feat. Miano, Kammu Dee

Music Video of the Year

Voting CodeName of SongName of Artist/Group
M1Supa DupaK.O
M2SMANasty C feat. Rowlene
M3Fetch your lifePrince Kaybee feat. Msaki
M5WhippedTellaman feat. Shekhinah & Nasty C
M6My DaliTNS feat. Indlovukazi
M7GugulethuPrince Kaybee feat. Indlovukazi, Supta & Afro Brothers
M8Khethile KhethileKwesta feat. Makwa, Tshego AMG & Thee Legacy
M9Joy JoyBlack Motion feat. Brenden Praise
M10YouHolly Rey
M11JikaAKA feat. Yanga Chief
M12Say U WillK.O feat. Nandi Madida
M13AbantuMobi Dixon feat. Samthing Soweto
M14KokoDJ Maphorisa & Kabza de Small feat. Mhaw Keys
M15Mai ZuzuTLT feat. Thabsie
M16This is LoveLady Zamar
M17Ngwana DaddyDJ Sumbody feat. Kwesta, Thebe, Vettys & Vaal Nation
M18Baby Are You ComingZero12Finest Feat. Thamagnificent2
M19Love You TonightMFR Souls Feat. Kabza De Small, DJ Maphorisa & Sha Sha
M20UmliloDJ Zinhle feat. Mvzzle & Rethabile